Vegetable Garden, March 2014, No. 2

1 Comment

Post:   3/16/2014

Well, warm dry weather has spurred me into action this week! It has just been beautiful in the Flournoy Valley this week.  It has been mostly dry with the high temperatures in the mid 60s and mostly sunny.  I have cleaned up the majority of the vegetable garden.  There are still 3 nice leeks ready to eat, I noticed 3 or 4 Asparagus shoots breaking ground, and rhubarb is getting with the program as are the herbs.  The garlic and shallots that Marshall Kirby planted for me are growing great.

I continued with my seeding into 1-inch cells completing the seeding of arugula, basil, broccoli, cabbage, cauliflower, chicory, cucumber (this may have been a mistake), dill, eggplant, fennel, lettuce, mustard, onions, Pak choi, parsley, and spinach.  I now have 960 cells with seeds in them.  Some of the tomatoes and peppers I planted last week are germinating.

I planted 3 more fruit trees–a sweet cherry, a sour cherry, and a hazelnut.

Plan:  by 3/23/2014

Finish cleaning up the garden

Till the garden

Break ground on the expanded 25’ by 70’ garden

Spread the 10 sq. yd. of compost over the entire garden

Rebuild the rows after tilling

Build grow out tables for the seedlings

Notes:

Last week the garden was a cold swamp or that was my view of it. Now it is perfectly workable and warm.   For such a heavy soil this rapid change is very odd for me.  Maybe it was not that wet and cold last week or maybe being on a crest it just drains well.  Whatever the case, it is perfect now and calling to me!

One thought on “Vegetable Garden, March 2014, No. 2

  1. Pingback: How to Build Raised Vegetable Garden Beds | Recipes for a Healthy You

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.